All the feminist ladies

I have recently been reading an array of articles on feminism only to have come across multiple women using Beyonce as the poster girl for their argument. While I greatly appreciate my predecessors who fought for my right to choose whether or not I want to wake up and put an apron or a pant suit on, or whether or not I want to get pregnant when an inebriated idiot thinks he doesn’t need a condom, I am disappointed in those who state Beyoncé is the epitome of feminism.

Don’t get me wrong, I love attempting to mimic the star’s illustrious dance moves, wearing my underwear, while singing ‘All the single ladies’ as much as the next woman, but having many argue she represents what women fought for decades ago is somewhat embarrassing.

Beyoncé’s hit song ‘Drunk in Love’, a collaboration with husband Jay Z, has the star echoing the rappers words “Eat the Cake, Anne Mae”, a distinct reference to the biopic What’s Love Got to Do With It, in which Ike Turner assaults Tina Turner.

In the 2013 February issue of GQ Beyoncé argues that men define what is feminine.

“Let’s face it, money gives men the power to run the show,” she states. “It gives men the power to define value. They define what’s sexy. And men define what’s feminine. It’s ridiculous.”

As GQ proves by featuring half naked women on the front of their magazine each month, sex sells. Beyoncé states that men define what is sexy, so a men’s magazine that identifies nudity as selling highlights that’s what men believe is sexy.

Since feminism is about gender equality and not being defined by a man, being half naked goes against this ideology especially when paired with these claims. In the same issue of the magazine she features on the front cover wearing underwear and showing her breasts.

But I thought she said it was ridiculous that men define what it means to be sexy?

I find my love for Beyoncé tainted by many people arguing that the star is a feminist. When asked by my friends if I love her I often hesitate because people have reiterated so many times that she stands for gender equality.

I am not arguing that she wants to stand for feminism, as she may not, I am merely stating that people who argue for feminism and use Beyoncé as an example need to ask themselves whether the women, such as Gloria Steinem who pushed for access to the pill, abortion, equal employment opportunity, and more would like to be represented by a woman who glamourises assault and contradicts her statements.

Leave a Reply

